Innocence of Youth

Splattering rain and bursting thunder boomed in the distance….  I was enjoying conversation with family during a visit to my parents home.  With one ear I listened as the chatter and laughter continued and with the other I focused my attention on the activity of the children nearby.  There wasn’t a sound from my 3 yr. old nephew who was entrusted in my care.  Standing up,  I quickly dashed about the kitchen floor shouting his name.  No answer.  My heart began to race…. Where did he go?  Did he wander outside or was he hiding in the house as he so loves to do?

There, he sat in a nearby windowsill, gazing out into the open air.  Why didn’t he answer me?  He knows I do not like being ignored when I call his name.  I watched as he sat so calm and focused.  So deep in thought.  Not wanting to distract him, I quietly ran to grab my camera to capture the moment as he sat peaceful and still, unaware of my presence or was he aware?

As I paused to take the picture I heard, “Come to me as little children and become lost in my presence.”  My heart immediately became overwhelmed by the heart of the Father.  At that moment I just wanted to run into a room, close the door behind me, fall to my knees and weep in the presence of my Father.

His desire is that we be as little children, so innocent without a care in the world.  To be alone with Him.  To hear from Him, learn from Him, receive from Him.  No noise, distraction or busyness around us should be able to steal our focus or attention from the One we gaze our eyes upon.

Life becomes so busy we tend to lose our focus.  There’s no time in a day to put aside and spend time with Him.  We get so consumed with our plans we become disconnected with the plans He has for us.  Jeremiah 29:11-14 says – “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.  I will be found by you,” says the Lord..

Jeremiah 33:3 says – “Call to Me, and I WILL answer you, and show you GREAT and MIGHTY things, which you do not know.”

Will you stop in the midst of all the busyness and come to Him as a child and sit in His presence?

Leave a Reply

