Broken Men

Today as I was pumping gas into my car, two men approached me, seemingly intoxicated.  Roland first walked up and completely startled me.  He asked for some change as he stepped a little closer, saying he needed money to get a hotel room for the night.  He explained he had nowhere to go and how he was having a hard time with work and finances.  Standing on alert, I looked him straight in the eyes, knowing he was not being very honest with me.  Asking him to please wait where he was at, I went around to the driver’s side of my car and grabbed the only change I had in my wallet.  Then I grabbed one of the tracks I keep in my car “Finding Peace with God”.  As I handed him the change he thanked me, then I handed him the tracks.  He looked puzzled and asked what the tracks were for.

Image

I began to witness to him about God’s love and why He sent His only Son Jesus to die on the cross for us while we were still sinners.  I continued to explain how God wants us to come to Him just as we are not when our lives are perfect or cleaned up or else no one would ever receive His love and forgiveness because not one person is perfect.  Roland became convicted as I shared with him and confessed to me he only asked for money to buy booze so he can get drunk with his buddy.  He went on to explain how his life was so messed up and that although he didn’t want to hear what I shared, he was glad because he said he needed it.  At that moment I was lead to pray for him.  Lifting his hand to his chest, he gasped “You want to pray for me?!” He was quite shocked and couldn’t believe I was willing to pray with him.  He began to remove his hat and glasses, then bowed his head and closed his eyes.  His buddy Curtis finally approached us as he was watching from a distance.  He too heard the message about God’s love that day.

To some people Roland and Curtis could be viewed as drunks, liars and thieves.  But to God they are broken unsaved men who desperately need a Savior.  It’s His love that pierces the hearts of man.  It’s His love that covers a multitude of sin.  It’s His love that sets us free from condemnation.  It’s by His love that we can walk and live a victorious life in Him!

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”  John 3:16

4 thoughts on “Broken Men

  1. Christine says:

    This touched my heart. Thank you so much for sharing. Awesome testimony about the love of God. I pray these two men come to know Jesus.

  2. Oh my goodness dear sister… this made me cry, but in a really good way 🙂 Praise God! How wonderful are opportunities like this and I commend your courage and faith to speak God’s love to those in need. Blessings and warm hugs to you!

  3. Glad you enjoyed Ms Jessie…God is so good! May you be encouraged to continue spreading His love that was poured out for you. Your light is truly shining bright!

Leave a Reply

